Sentence handed down in stabbing death

adelaide street

Almost three years after 19-year-old Londoner Jared McKnight was stabbed to death, the man responsible was handed his sentence.

It was not the sentence McKnight’s family had hoped for.

While the Crown was asking for nine years, Perry Eggett Jr., 25, received an eight-year sentence. For time already served, he’ll be eligible for release in three years and seven months. He pleaded guilty earlier this year to manslaughter.

In her ruling, Justice Helen Rady told the court Tuesday Jared’s death was, “An utterly senseless death that shouldn’t have happened.”

Eggett stabbed McKnight in the chest on May 12, 2012 – after he mistook him for his younger brother Jordan McKnight.

On Monday, Eggett told the court that he regretted what he had done saying, “I wish it never happened and I could take it back.”

Jared’s mother, Lori Scott, who has left comments on this blog, said, “I just want to see [Eggett] never see the light of day, the same way my son is. That’s basically what I would want to see as a mother, but it won’t happen.”

I came upon the scene shortly after the stabbing on Adelaide Street near Hamilton Road.

I talked to people on site and broke the news that Eggett had been the perpetrator.

Here’s one of my earlier stories.

https://kathyrumleski.wordpress.com/2015/01/28/the-end-of-a-tragic-case/

I wish to offer condolences again to the family. After waiting so long for the case to wrap up, it seems the wait behind bars for the man who killed McKnight isn’t nearly long enough.

And CTV London’s coverage from Monday:

http://london.ctvnews.ca/eggett-gets-8-years-for-2012-stabbing-death-1.2337958

2 thoughts on “Sentence handed down in stabbing death

  1. This is not at all what we were hoping for. He did NOT apologize to me or my family. It was a very general statement, and we took it as he was sorry he got caught. To date he hasn’t shown any remorse or trying to better himself. He’s now in the federal system and I will follow his every move. When it comes time for parole hearings. I will be there then too. When the judge was handing down the sentence, she referred to my impact statement quite a bit, and a quote from it was “Forgiveness has nothing to do with absolving a criminal of his crime. It has everything to do with relieving oneself of the burden of being a victim–letting go of the pain and transforming oneself from victim to survivor.” I am a survivor and so are my children. My son (who was the “right” brother) now suffers from guilt and survivor’s guilt. How do you think he felt every time the media, judge, lawyer…….everyone said it was mistaken identity. He was going to hurt or kill one of my boys and he gets manslaughter because of a lying cousin that had stolen from my son. I’m sickened by all of it, the justice system failed yet another family.

  2. Yes it did fail your family Lori. I don’t understand how you can call someone over, stab them and then say it wasn’t pre-meditated.
    You are a very strong woman. Thoughts and prayers are with you.

Leave a Reply

