Retweet – favourite – reply – click a link …. help get me out of Twitterverse

twitter

I was without my cell phone for five and a half days.

I have to say it was a good experience.  It didn’t ring at inappropriate times. I didn’t have to worry about setting it down somewhere and forgetting where I put it. I wasn’t constantly bombarded with emails.

But best of all. I wasn’t wasting endless hours on Twitter.

I like Twitter and I’ll be sending this blog to the Twitterverse.

But once I check in, I can’t get out.

I click on this link and that link. Look at somebody’s photo. Retweet. Favourite. Look at my notifications. Constantly check out stats from Islanders’ games as the games are rarely on TV so it’s how I get up to the minute info on what’s happening. I look at what’s trending. Get lost in a whole debate on a trending issue.

In short, you can only say so much on Twitter, but I spend long stretches sucked in to its vortex. Next thing I know, I forgot to eat. Forgot my to-do list. Forgot to sleep. Do I have kids?

I have my phone back now, but no life.

16 thoughts on “Retweet – favourite – reply – click a link …. help get me out of Twitterverse

  1. Have you categorized the content of messages to identify those from commercial sources just using you – the targeted ads – and those socially relevant to you and your family ?

  2. There are more and more advertising and marketing Tweets popping up every day. On Twitter you can follow those that are relevant to you and unfollow those you find don’t contribute much. But sometimes, accounts you don’t follow will still show up in your Twitter feed.
    My problem is, there are so many interesting things I like to read, that my time gets swallowed up so quickly.

  3. If serious about the hold these commercial sites have over your time, sort out which topics of real Interest and which are just dalliances. From your professional perspective and from your private family roles.
    .Before you go these sites, read a couple of standard news sources to get an overview of the world situation on that day.
    What is relevant to you as a wage earner and blog host, and what is entertaining.
    To whom do you donate your professional and personal time when you choose to be a Follower ? This requires you to
    return to these people, unlike site just providing useful information.

  4. Good suggestions. There is also a social aspect to Twitter. Not as much as Facebook, but it is a meeting place of sorts where you have a conversation and share thoughts. I like the idea of being succinct as it also is also good practice for news writing. Communicate the message clearly and concisely.

  5. Not sure the cause of journalism is served by this 144 character
    format – about 20 words max and assuming people are hanging around for the next blast. Who is this audience ? Thought people were so busy today..
    Only you can decide if the people you meet here have views of value, particularly when they’re background for your professional work. Have you found yourself depending more on these commercial sites since you left a busy, chatty workplace for more time in your home, presumably alone for much of it ?
    How much time do you spend reading traditional newspapers where you know who’s saying what and their backgrounds ?
    Is this dialogue any help with your original complaint ???

  6. I still love reading newspapers and I like the suggestion to get an idea of the day’s news early so that I’m not online clicking on different links.
    I still spend time in a busy newsroom, just not as much as before. It is some of the home time that is spent on other sites.
    This conversation has been useful. I also talked to a colleague at CTV about this issue who read this blog. He says his tablet is the vice. It’s so easy to pick up a smart phone or tablet and take it to wherever you are sitting and start browsing.

  7. The gadget is controlling you ?
    Why/where are you sitting purposelessly – where pre- all this, you might have had time to look at a book, make a to-do list, or even just think ?
    Is this just like exposure to a bottle of gin or a pack of cigarettes
    if one is trying to break an addiction?
    Would you go along with your child if he/she claimed the same excuse ?

  8. I still read books, do my daily chores, ensure quality time with the kids. But once they are in bed as I watch the evening news, I also have my smart phone with me and that’s when I check emails, Twitter, Facebook, etc., all ways to stay in touch and find story ideas.
    I can go without it as I proved recently. It’s more to the point that there are so may diversions. You click on different links and get engrossed and the time flies.
    Does that happen to you sometimes? Or do you set an allotted time to look at emails, read blogs, newspapers online?

  9. Am in less pressured circumstances. I open my desktop computer
    at a regular time and check major newspapers – starting with CBC
    news can save time and one doesn’t have to pay to open articles
    .Last is sending and reading emails.
    I avoid Links even from trusted people. If worth looking at, I “dial up”
    the site myself. And don’t give them to others, just the name of the
    resource of interest.
    I tend to look up a point and get deeper and deeper into the topic
    and lose track of time. eg fruitful pursuit of a casual reference to
    John McCrae collecting soldier profanity…
    Read my paper newspaper off and on, and an hour with a book at
    bedtime, TV finally off.
    You are working on a very small screen and that may be more
    exciting looking than a monitor format.
    Try not using Links – except to see why someone would direct
    you to them. What’s in it for the referrer ??

  10. No link, but a pointer to an article your family might find
    valuable when discussing the measles/vaccination issue,
    amidst all the media handwringing and opinionating.
    Canadian Press piece by Cheryl Ubelacker today in G&M’s
    L&A. Recent history of programs, with dates of accessibility.
    You’re too young to recall the fearsome Rubella – such a
    worry to pregnant women. And of course of the QUARANTINE
    sign public health nailed to the door of a victim’s house.

  11. Start with prior generations, then do your personal timeline, and your children’s. Dates of the introduction of immunization techniques matter
    as does geography
    Today’s kids should see that health protection they take for granted, an entitlement. wasn’t even available within living memory. With some pretty awful results.
    – Re your personal situation, contact the public health unit or your current family doctor’s office. Year of birth and youthful location matter, not measuring by adult age. You’d be in a Northern Ontario school system back then ?
    Do remember trying to tell my youngster’s public school that we parents received no home record of what was being done, to pass along to them when they left home, perhaps to live in different jurisdictions, even countries.

  12. Thanks. Yes, important for parents to have records they can then pass onto adult children to take with them. My mom did give me my vaccination records of shots received as a baby. With this, I guess the health unit would then be able to tell me if I need another dose.
    I also take care to continue to update my children’s records and keep them in a safe place.

  13. You are lucky, that there was by then a Home record form and
    that your mother was so careful to pass print information along
    as you now do for your young ones. They even have historical
    value, showing what Ontario was doing at different stages.
    When you contact the PHU, could you ask what document if
    any parents/guardians are given of school-administered shots
    to complement family doctor records, presumably on that yellow
    card form, filled out by office nurse.
    What is missing is an adult take-home record form,’ flu, tetnus,
    pneumovax etc…

Leave a Reply

