Canadian hockey star lights it up on her birthday

Does a special day provide inspiration for people?

Can a birthday or anniversary push one to higher levels?

Good questions to ask as for the second time, Canadian women’s hockey player Meghan Agosta-Marciano, plays a game for the ages against bitter rival, U.S.A., on her birthday. And it was on the biggest stage of all – the Olympics.

Today, Agosta-Marciano, 27, had two goals and an assist as Canada defeated the Americans 3-2.

Eight years ago in Torino, she scored a hat trick.

I talked to Agosta-Marciano in Torino about scoring three goals in her first Olympic Games. The women would walk through the mixed zone and reporters would grab them as they walked by.

I remember the 19-year-old as bubbly and irrepressible.

She talked about celebrating the hat trick and her birthday with a cake in the dressing room, saying it was  a perfect day.

“When I got the hat trick, I was thrilled,” she told me. “I’m just so excited to be here. It’s been my dream since I was a little girl – six years old actually – to represent my country. I was honoured.”

Agosta-Marciano is from Ruthven, but spent some time with the Strathroy-based Bluewater Hawks and the London Junior Stangs.

She mentioned coaches Rick Sullivan, Jason Stacey and Scott Merrifield, as helping her get to the Olympics.

“…if it wasn’t for them, I wouldn’t be where I am today.”

Happy Birthday Meghan. I wonder if it tops the birthday in  Torino?

 

 

Leave a Reply

