Blue light could help with long, drawn-out winter

goLITE BLU_highres

I have dealt with insomnia for a number of years now.

Getting to sleep and staying asleep are issues.

I’ve been using a blue light made by Philips for a couple of weeks now.

The product was supplied free to me with the opportunity to try it.

By plugging in some information about my sleeping habits on the Philips website, the results came back that I may have Circadian Amplitude Disorder (CAD).  This means my body clock could be producing lower amounts of the night/day hormones during the day. The result is trouble falling asleep or waking up. It can also affect the quality of your sleep.

I do know that the recent change to Daylight Savings Time threw me off schedule. The spring ahead and fall back cycle of an hour added or lost always affects me each time.

It’s amazing how much that one hour can make a difference in our body’s rhythms.

To help alleviate the problem, I have been using the goLite Blu, seen above. It produces the spectrum of blue light our body’s melatonin levels respond to.

Getting sunshine is ideal, but with the drab, dreary winter that continues to hang on, it is difficult for many of us to get the sunshine we need.

The other point to note is that there are no UV rays emitted from the blue light.

I use the light for about 20 minutes a day in the morning. So far, so good.

I am finding that I fall asleep easier than I have in the past.

I place the light at the required distance and turn it on while I’m working at the computer. I don’t even notice that it’s on.

The light shouldn’t be used in the evening as the brain can be tricked into thinking it’s time to reset the body clock.

People who have Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) and jet lag can also use the light.

For more information or to try a circadian rhythm test, visit this link,

http://www.philips.ca/c/light-therapy/golite-blu-plus-rechargeable-hf3332_60/prd/en/

Let me know if you decide to give it a try.

Are you finding it difficult to face the cold now that we’re officially into spring? I woke up to snow this morning and it wasn’t pretty anymore.

This season has been particularly tough in Britain where officials say the severe conditions may be to blame for about 4,000 extra deaths this winter. Read about the latest storm in this Telegraph story.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/topics/weather/9950731/Drawn-out-winter-may-have-caused-thousands-of-extra-deaths.html

Leave a Reply

